C.H. Spurgeon: “When I hear my Heavenly Father say that a man is a fool, I dare not think him wise.”

I never feel, when I meet with intellectual men, who look down upon me as a mere preacher of platitudes, that they have any right to do so. To them I give place by subjection, no, not for an hour. I have rather to check a propensity to look down on them than to subdue any feeling of inferiority. To us, the truths of the gospel are absolute certainties for which we do not crave tolerance, but to which we demand submission. If any brand us with epithets, such as “bigot,” “vulgar dogmatist,” or “mere echo of departed Puritanism,” (and all these have been used) we will only reply, “You may apply to us what opprobrious titles you please, but we know that, if we were to express the truth about you, there is no adjective of contempt which you do not deserve; and, therefore, because we know of no language sufficiently strong to set forth our abhorrence of your false doctrine, we will let you pass in silence.”

My brethren, when you hear that a learned man has made a new discovery which contradicts the Scriptures, do not feel alarmed. Do not imagine that he is really a great man, but believe that he is just an educated idiot, or a self-conceited fool. If you find time to read the works of learned sceptics, you will soon see that their statements of fact are not reliable, their deductions are not logical, their inferences are monstrous, and their speculations are insane. I remember reading some statements of the great German, Oken, which to me sounded singularly like the babblings of Bethlehem Hospital. They reminded me of an incident which occurred when a prize was offered for verses of poetry, which were to be quite free from meaning. Two of the competitors were nearly equal, but in the poem of one of them there was the faintest glimmering of an idea, while the other had not even a trace of sense, and therefore gained the prize. I vote for the supremacy of the neologians in that department, in sonorous nonsense, they excel. If I am thought to express myself too strongly, it must be so, for I believe I speak what God himself would endorse; he applies no soft terms to boastful unbelievers. When he takes any notice of them at all, he calls them fools. You shall find that to be the expression which the Lord constantly uses concerning unbelievers in the Old Testament, and in the New, too: “Professing themselves to be wise, they became fools.” And, brethren, when I hear my Heavenly Father say that a man is a fool, I dare not think him wise. Do no let us think otherwise than God does.

C.H. Spurgeon, An All-Round Ministry, 26-27

About cteldridge

A beggar trying to tell other beggars were the Bread is.
This entry was posted in God, Gospel, Theological education. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

