Spangenburg’s frank conversation with Wesley

In 1736 on a missionary journey to North America a German pastor named Spangenburg shared frank words with John Wesley concerning the state of Wesley’s soul. Wesley was silenced by Spangenburg’s words and brought to a deeper understanding of his need for Jesus. Wesley recorded the conversation in his diary:

Spangenburg said, “My brother, I must first ask you one or two questions.  Have you the witness within yourself? Does the Spirit of God bear witness with your spirit, that you are a child of God?” I was surprised, and knew not what to answer. He observed it, and asked, “Do you know Jesus Christ?” I paused, and said, “I know he is the Saviour of the world.” “True,” replied he; “but do you know he has saved you?” I answered, “I hope he has died to save me.” He only added, “Do you know yourself?” I said, “I do.” But I fear they were vain words.

The Works of Wesley, Journals, Vol. 1, p. 23

About cteldridge

A beggar trying to tell other beggars were the Bread is.
This entry was posted in Biographical. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

